PikeView High 2017 Academic Bowl Champions

PikeView High members are Joe Bisaha, Andrew Jennings, Austin Harmon, Dakota Miller, Teagan Waugh, Cameron White, and Bethany Green. PVHS students are coached by Teresa Barton. 

PikeView High 2017 Academic Bowl Champions

PRINCETON, WV, December 2, 2016:   On Thursday, December 1, 2016, Mercer County Schools hosted the Championship Match of the 2016-2017 Academic Bowl in the auditorium at PikeView High School.  Due to a three-way tie, the evening began with a quarter-final match between Montcalm High (MHS) and PikeView High (PVHS).   PikeView High moved on to face Bluefield High (BHS) in a semi-final match. The championship round featured PikeView facing Princeton Senior High School (PSHS).  By virtue of winning all their matches this year, PSHS automatically qualified for the Championship Match.  In an extremely close match, PVHS was successful in retaining the Championship trophy for another year. 

Using NAQT (National Academic Quiz Tournament) questions, moderator Rebecca Broyles was a tremendous inspiration to students by always encouraging them.  Furthermore, her cheerful personality allowed students to always feel at ease.  

Dr. Deborah Akers, Superintendent, applauds all four high schools for competing in the Academic Bowl and offers congratulations to PVHS for retaining the Championship trophy.     

Members of the Bluefield High Academic Bowl Team are Zach Lawless, Elizabeth Warner, Molly Pugh, Zoe Carter, Eva Warner, Nathan Nichols, Colton Lively, Madison Shanklin, Jordan Farley, Savannah Smith, Alyssa Webb, Joel Carlos, Lilly Wright, Samantha Hicks, and Hayden Aliff. Their coach is Taylor Bulson. 

Members of the Montcalm High team include Hunter Bouldin, Theresa Riggs, Trevor Darago, Kaitlyn Cook, Devin Conley, Kaylie Nisbet, Jessamy Farley, Bradley Pendergrass, Destiny Clemins, Raylyn Otey, Jake Krabbe, Paige Nunn, Joe Shinn, Kevin 

Princeton Senior High members are Emily Bailey, Jared Bishop, Atticus Boggess, Timmy Bragg, Jared Broyles, CJ Buckner, Dakota Cline, Jenny Culicerto, Katherine Curran, Rigved Goyal, Courtney Hamilton, Sydney Haynes, Garrett Jessee, Makayla Kelly, Matthew Kinzer, Madison Knight, Stephen Linkous, Ace Lipscomb, Cheyenne Loomis, Aubrie Peyton, Nisa Rana, Trey Snidow, Bradley Vanthyne, Tanner Veneri, and LeTrae Wilborn.  PSHS is coached by Laura Presley.